You are here: Conference Announcements ACLS Fellowship

ACLS Fellowship

The American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS)

African Humanities Program

Fellowship competitions in Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, and Uganda

With financial support from the Carnegie Corporation of New York, ACLS announces competitions for:

  • Dissertation-completion fellowships (Ghana, Nigeria, Tanzania, and Uganda)
  • Early-career postdoctoral fellowships for research and writing (Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, and Uganda)
  • Fellowship recipients may request an allowance for residence away from the home institution.
  • In future years, post-doctoral awardees who complete manuscripts under terms of 
Carnegie/ACLS fellowships will be eligible to apply for publication subsidies.

Stipends will be $9,000 for dissertation and $16,000 for postdoctoral fellowships, with cost of living adjustments for each of the five countries.  The fellowships are intended to release recipients from teaching and other duties for an academic year to devote full-time to research and writing.  Approximately 40 fellowships will be awarded in all five countries combined during the first competition year. Applications will be evaluated by an international peer-review committee of distinguished humanities scholars.

Eligibility: Applicants

  • Dissertation applicants must be doctoral candidates in their final year of writing the dissertation.
  • Postdoctoral candidates must be scholars who have obtained the Ph.D. within the past five years.
  • All applicants must be citizens of an African country residing in, and having an institutional affiliation in, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, or Uganda.

Eligibility: Projects

Projects proposed must be in the humanities, defined by the study of history, language, and culture, and by qualitative approaches.  The list of humanities disciplines includes anthropology, studies of the fine and performing arts, history, linguistics, literature studies, studies of religion, and philosophy.  Projects in social sciences such as economics, sociology or political science, as well as in law or international relations, are not eligible unless they are clearly humanistic in content and focus.

Selection criteria

  • the intrinsic interest and substantive merit of the work proposed
  • the clarity with which the intellectual agenda is presented
  • the contribution the work is likely to make to scholarship in the region as well as internationally
  • the feasibility of the workplan.

The ACLS African Humanities Program seeks to promote diversity (in terms of discipline, institution, region, gender, and historical disadvantage) for the sake of excellence in humanities scholarship. Applications are welcome from all eligible scholars in Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, and Uganda.

Application forms and instructions are available from September 2008 on the ACLS website: For printed versions of application forms and instructions, please write to the African Humanities Program: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Deadline has been extended to the 15 November 2011